Books by Jane Austen

Jane Austen (1775 - 1817)

English novelist Jane Austen was born 1775 at the rectory in Steventon, Hampshire, one of two daughters of the Rev. George Austen and his wife Cassandra. Austen's literary strength lies in the delineation of character, especially of women, by delicate touches arising out of the most natural and everyday incidents in the life of the middle and upper classes, from which her subjects are generally taken. 

Adhering to a common contemporary practice for female authors, Austen published her novels anonymously. Her novels achieved a measure of popular success and esteem, yet her anonymity kept her out of leading literary circles. Although all her works are love stories, and although her career coincided with the Romantic movement in literature, Jane Austen was not an intensely passionate Romantic.

Her characters, though of quite ordinary types, are drawn with such firmness and precision, and with such significant detail as to retain their individuality intact through their entire development, and they are uncoloured by her own personality. Her view of life seems largely genial, with a strong dash of gentle but keen irony.

Famous Novels by Jane Austen: 
Browse Books by Jane Austen
In popular culture, Austen's novels have been adapted in a great number of film and television series, varying greatly in their faithfulness to the originals.
Pride and Prejudice has been the most reproduced of her works, with six films. Emma has been adapted to film five times. Sense and Sensibility has been made into four films. Persuasion has been adapted into two television series and one feature film. Mansfield Park and Northanger Abbey have both been made into films.
Jane Austen - Film Adaptations


8 Books in 1, Jane Austen's Complete Novels
Jane Austen's complete novels, collected together in one uniquely comprehensive volume. Comprises the complete text of: "Sense and Sensibility", "Pride and Prejudice", "Mansfield Park", "Emma", "Northanger Abbey", "Persuasion", "Lady Susan", and "Love and Friendship". This is the only single-volume edition of Jane Austen's novels to contain not only the wickedly humorous "Lady Susan", but also the irrepressibly exuberant early work "Love and Friendship". This collection allows readers to explore the development of one of the English language's greatest writers, following her development from the farcical comedy of "Love and Friendship" and "Northanger Abbey", via her most popular work, "Pride and Prejudice", to the masterpiece "Emma", and the considered romance of "Persuasion".
A unique collection of the finest and most perceptive love stories ever written.
Jane Austen Collection (Sense & Sensibility / Emma / Persuasion / Mansfield Park / Pride & Prejudice / Northanger Abbey) DVD
The socially restricted lives of 18th-century women hardly seems like a subject that would inspire dozens of 20th (and 21st) century adaptations--but the brilliant novels of Jane Austen are flush with sparkling dialogue, razor-sharp wit, marvelously realized characters that range from adorably sympathetic to grotesquely comic, and--above all--ingeniously intricate plots, which arrive at a seemingly inevitable happy conclusion yet keep you seized with suspense every inch of the way. The Jane Austen Collection pulls together six BBC miniseries from 1971 through 1987, one for each of Austen's much-beloved books.