travel advisoryhomesite mapcontact us
attractions destinations travel info
shopping travel tips travel tools
Get All Travel Info


Oceania Travel Books & Guides

Oceania has been traditionally divided into Micronesia, Melanesia, Polynesia, and Australasia. As with any region, however, interpretations vary; increasingly, geographers and scientists divide Oceania into Near Oceania and Remote Oceania.

Most of Oceania consists of small island nations. Australia is the only continental country but Indonesia has land borders with Papua New Guinea, East Timor, and Malaysia.

Australia is sometimes not included in Oceania, although a term like Pacific Islands would normally be used to describe Oceania without Australia and New Zealand.